1. When calling a locksmith; make sure they have a CCB License Number and a Oregon Locksmith Certification Number (this is now an Oregon Law for ALL Locksmiths). These numbers should be on their web site, IF NOT, it's a RED Flag!! You should call someone else.
2. Make sure you understand what the Locksmith will charge you for their service. NO Locksmith will come out and unlock your auto for just $19.00 to $35.00. These locksmiths will charge you up and over $80.00 on top of the $19.00 to $35.00. If you pay over $90.00 for a lockout you might of got scammed or this local locksmith is over charging you very much! In that case, I would use someone else and take this as a lesson.
3. When the Locksmith arrives make sure the locksmith has their Company Name on the side of their vehicle. If they don't, then be aware and maybe you should ask them to leave. If they give you any problems or try to intimidate you, just step back and call the Police.
4. After the Locksmith arrives make sure you get a business card from them as soon as he/she greets you. If not, ask them for one, if they don't have one be aware and maybe ask them to leave even without paying them for a service charge. If you have problems with a questionable Locksmith, you can always call the police. Don't let a locksmith intimidate you.
MAKE SURE YOU KNOW THE FULL PRICE OF WHAT THE
LOCKSMITH WILL CHARGE YOU BEFORE THEY COME OUT!
To save you the trouble of finding a real locksmith in your city
just go to Associated Locksmiths of America's (ALOA) web site:
Here is the link: